Looking for a good bird/duck dog

http://www.il.ducks.org/news-media/messageboards/Topic771863.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By bmcgee19 - 2/4/2013 2:09:32 PM
Hello all,

I am new to duck hunting and I am in a struggle to find the best duck/bird dog I can for a relatively inexpensive price. 

I have gone back and forth and narrowed it down to lab/retriever and field bred english cocker spaniel. 

Any ideas? I really like the english cocker spaniel and I think they might be good to house train.

Does anyone use english cocker spaniels for ducks?

-Brendan
By chadandy12 - 2/4/2013 2:31:39 PM
I would say go with the tried and true which is a lab. You can find labs from anywhere in the range of 200-2,000 depending apon breeder and blood lines. I would recommend a lab because they are great learners most are not hard headed and personalities are tough to beat. But I am also bias because I love mine! Good luck
By bmcgee19 - 2/4/2013 2:55:10 PM
Thank you for the info! The more the better at this point!

I would love a lab, but I live in the Boston area too. Not sure if I can keep a dog inside all day in the city.
By Mallard Mugger - 2/4/2013 4:50:48 PM
What would be differnt about keeping a spaniel in the house?  Size?  Both need to get out and get plenty of excercise each day.

No matter which breed you go with, make sure you do background checks for health clearances, on either breed.  Good Luck with your search!

btw - I'm partial to labs  ;)
By bmcgee19 - 2/5/2013 12:18:14 PM
Yes I guess size would be the difference. 

Anyone ever have a field bred english cocker spaniel?
By Mallard Mugger - 2/5/2013 12:23:01 PM
bmcgee19 (2/5/2013)

I have not had one and I have not seen them in the duck marsh.  I'm not saying they are not out there and I'm not saying they can't do the work, I just have not seen one in the marsh.
By Swamper - 2/6/2013 4:31:48 PM
Mallard Mugger (2/5/2013)
bmcgee19 (2/5/2013)