My Canoe Blind

http://www.ducksunlimited.org/news-media/messageboards/Topic769512.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By Zmac - 8/21/2012 12:24:03 PM
So this is my first attempt at making a blind for my canoe. I usually push the back of the canoe into the reeds/ grass when hunting, so the idea was for it to function somewhat similar to a layout blind. The rear portion of the blind can be pushed forward when shooting and the front portion lifts up to allow access to gear. They are both attached to the main cross member using zip ties. I still have a little work to do on the camo, but though I would get some opinions on possible improvements. Let me know what you think.

Blind Frame
Canoe blind. Rear panel folds forward when shooting.
By Army of Dad - 8/21/2012 7:49:26 PM
Looks good, how do you keep it up out of the water while in transit?
By Zmac - 8/22/2012 3:53:30 PM
Not sure yet. Havet had it out on the water with the blind yet! :D I suppose I could fold the sides in uder the frame so they are inside the canoe.
By robkelley - 8/22/2012 8:28:07 PM
I hunt out of my canoe in the heaths up here in maine.  I keep my netting rolled up and stowed in my canoe until I get my decoys set and then once I drag my canoe into the vegetation on the banks of the lakes I then roll out the netting and then brush it up with more from around my setup.  I use my canoe as my layout blind then.  it works great to keep me warm and out of the winds.
By Trackmyer - 8/26/2012 7:17:29 PM
Zmac (8/22/2012)
Not sure yet. Havet had it out on the water with the blind yet! :D I suppose I could fold the sides in uder the frame so they are inside the canoe.

That looks great.  I use similar netting along with burlap netting and mine hangs over the sides bout same as yours.   I just let it drag in water most times.  The drag doesnt slow me down too much, and Im not out to set any speed records anyhow.