Golden Retriever... new to hunting

http://de.ducks.org/news-media/messageboards/Topic769425.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By Zack_DeWolfe - 8/14/2012 8:01:06 PM
Hi all!

I am brand new to this forum, although I have been donating to DU for years. I have a one year old Golden Retriever that loves to retrieve. I have been training her since she was 5 months old and she definetely has the drive. She will sit by my side while I throw her bird (bumper) and then wait for my command before going after it. Needless to say, she understands her duty.

However, I am running into a problem. She has yet to been on a hunting experience. She has been swiming in lakes with ducks and geese but whenever I try to show her that they are indeed the "birds" she simply looks for me to throw a bumper. I'm hoping she will simply adapt and understand when I shoot my first bird with her around.

Any suggestions?
By Pit Boss - 8/14/2012 9:43:58 PM
Saturday and Sunday we trained with live ducks and we let one dog that hasn't seen many cripples chase a duck around the marsh. We use dead ducks every day we train. Do you train like you hunt. Has your dog been introduced to live birds, shotguns, duck calls and decoys? Why not go out and set out decoys, blow your calls and shoot popper loads? If you do that before the season you will know what to expect once the season starts. Keep in mind that not every duck will fall in your pocket so throw some birds where he will have to put a little effort into it. 
By Mallard Mugger - 8/15/2012 12:20:25 AM
Has she been properly introduced to gun fire?  Do a search for intro to gunfire.  kghops has some good stuff.  He even put together a video for it.  PM him and you probably can get it for a reseanable price.

As PB said, train with birds.
By blizzardhunter - 8/16/2012 9:43:32 PM
Pit Boss (8/14/2012)